the yoga love

on the mat is a state of mind

Monday Night Flow: Total Woo Woo

whoa. my yoga class tonight absolutely blew. my. mind.

my mind is blown.

like, blown up. my mind is… blown up.

whoa.

WHOA.

ok. so I went to yoga. I took my friend Steven. We had a yoga date. That kind of made me nervous bc I like feeling anonymous. I left my dog at his house, that also made me nervous. And I am kind of running out of money. Also = nervous.

But I went.

There were too many people there. I think that I wasn’t super excited about the class at first. I can’t really even remember that far back. At one point I remember becoming very aware of the pose we were in, not because I was uncomfortable, but just because it was the only thing I was aware of. As far as I knew, I may have only ever done that pose. That may have been the only thing I had ever done. For all I knew, that moment was my whole life’s purpose. It was mind blowing. (did I mention it blew my mind?)

So at that point, I was high as a ^(*&%&^%(^ing kite. (I didn’t even try to make that a word – I also have no words apparently). I was ready to given them my credit card and just go ahead and pay off a year of yoga (to the tune of $925); I was clearly out of my mind.

But as class wound down, I got into some pretty deep stretches, and was surprised at how far I was able to go. When it was over, I felt so amazing. I felt happy and calm and, most importantly,I had realized that I am enough. To make me happy, to be successful, to keep me entertained.

I am enough.

I saw everything that I am, everything I have been and a glimpse of what I may be. It is enough. I don’t need anyone to validate me or make me feel whole. I have everything I need to be everything I need to be. It is so comforting and freeing. It blows my mind.

The buzz slowly wore off. When we left, Steven and I were ready to quit our (pretty awesome self-employed) jobs and run away to costa rica to open a yoga retreat. It would be awesome in a very eatpraylove kinda way. By the time we got back to the house, we were more ‘oh-haha – we were totally going to quit our jobs to go do yoga. let’s eat.’

But the glow lingers…

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/20/2009 by in yogalove.

more downward dog, less downward spiral

Smile, be happy!

"Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it." — Elizabeth Gilbert

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

twittah

