the yoga love

on the mat is a state of mind

No Woo for You!

So, I returned to my Flow & Stretch class of monday night – dead set on finding my buzz.

I found: tight hips, a craving for chinese food, a list of things to do to get patients, and the harsh realization that ‘enlightenment,’ or the Woo as I shall henceforth refer to it, might be a little harder to come by than I had thought. Also, I found that my practice tonight was a bit more painful than I had been anticipating. I have dived into this adventure thinking that as I come by flexibility naturally, I just get to coast through the physical part. Not so. Just as I came by a lot of things I learned in school pretty easily, that doesn’t necessarily mean that my practice will be a success right off the bat. I’m going to have to start at the beginning, and make sure that my foundations are strong as I progress, in both things.

I’m seeing so many parallels between my practice and my practice (that being my work and my yoga), that reaffirm my conviction that I am exactly where I am supposed to be. Yoga is the yin to my work’s yang. I get to take back in what I have put out over the course of my day. I am creating routine for myself which allows me to better keep track of changes (good and bad) and anything that may be out of balance. When things are going smoothly, I am able to easily find my ‘space’ in yoga. When something is out of whack I can’t tune it out and I know that I need to give that imbalance my attention. It’s a rather convenient system of checks and balances that I have set up for myself.

I think that my buzz of monday was a just a little taste of what’s to come, just as the joy I get out of working on people is just a taste of how gratifying my work can be as I get deeper into it. Tonight, I didn’t get my buzz on, but I did get a healthy taste of reality, and that may turn out to be more enlightening. Only entropy comes easily, and chaos is not what we’re working towards.

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/22/2009 by in yogalove.

more downward dog, less downward spiral

Smile, be happy!

"Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it." — Elizabeth Gilbert

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

twittah

