the yoga love

on the mat is a state of mind

Best Week Ever

I had a mellow class this afternoon. Exactly what I needed: easy and SOLID.

This has been one of the best weeks of my year. I did almost 9 hours of yoga, and spent some quality time with myself working through my stuff, and I feel good.

I’ve realized something about yoga, part of what draws me to it, and it’s something that my friend Holly said once that I didn’t really understand at the time, “One of the greatest benefits of yoga is that it makes the part of us that creates drama smaller, and the part of us that is connected to the divine source bigger.” It opens our heart and mind and spirit to the ‘everything else’ that exists beyond the scope of our bullshit.

There is so much pretense in human relationships. So much emotional push and pull to get what we want out of other people. So many people trying to suck us into their drama.

I’m going to go ahead and yoga out and quote Eat Pray Love.
Elizabeth Gilbert wrote, “your emotions are slave to your thoughts, and you are the slave to your emotions.” One thing that I’ve learned this week is that I can control my thoughts. In controlling my mind, in not letting it roam free, I get to decide how I’m going to feel. In controlling my thoughts, I am no longer subject to my every emotional whim (or the whims of others). When something comes up that I would normally react to, I can decide whether or not I want to get involved in the drama that emotion would command. I received an annoying text message today and I really just wanted to tear the sender a new one. Unfortunately, that would have only upset me. He’d have just gotten what he wanted, a reaction. I chose not to respond and I chose not to let myself give in. This self-restraint saved me a lot of energy, and I refuse to be anyone’s emotional monkey.

I love yoga because it creates peace in my life. A quiet place for me, and a quiet me for everyone else.

I honestly believe that if everyone did yoga, we’d have peace on earth. We would.

Namaste.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/26/2009 by in yogalove.

more downward dog, less downward spiral

Smile, be happy!

"Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it." — Elizabeth Gilbert

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

twittah

