the yoga love

on the mat is a state of mind

Life Gets in the Way

I took a three day break from yoga this week and though I am distressed by how this may affect my ‘stats’ for the month (only 20 classes so far!) I figured it would be good for me.  Work has picked up significantly, and I took some time to rest and repair. My body was starting to feel a little achy, and sometimes doing nothing is the best medicine.

Unfortunately, when I hit the mat today – it was like I was back at square one. I felt uncoordinated and weak, my mind was a jumble, I was looking around at everyone and everything, I couldn’t catch my breath and I was generally annoyed. I don’t know what this means, other than that I won’t be taking any more extended absences. Maybe it was the class, maybe it was me… who knows. I’d like to say that I could just accept it for the experience it provided me, but that’s just not where my head is today. I’m trying to pull myself out of this funk, and though I don’t know what that will take, I am determined to power through.

In it, as always.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 11/13/2009 by in yogalove.

more downward dog, less downward spiral

Smile, be happy!

"Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it." — Elizabeth Gilbert

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

twittah

