the yoga love

on the mat is a state of mind

Equal Opportunity Yogi

It is my goal (one of them anyway), to do as much yoga as possible this coming year. As many different styles in as many different cities with as many different teachers as possible. I want to know everything that I possibly can, no pose left…unposed.

I turned on Bikram yoga a few years ago after an unfortunate incident involving a few glasses of wine and a slight sunburn. Also: I was a little too ADD to do the same thing everyday. If it was a pose I didn’t like, I shied away from it as soon as I knew it was coming. I needed  variety (and AC). But tonight, my friend Chris invited me to his hot yoga studio with one of his favorite teachers, and though it was punishing as all get out, I loved it. I loved that it was a new experience; that it pushed me in different ways. I loved that though my body wasn’t strong in the same ways as in my regular vinyasa classes, my focus was stronger. I felt as though I had pushed myself in new ways and tested the limits of what I’ve learned these last few months, and that made me feel good. I am stronger. I have grown. Progress makes me happy.

I also like the feeling of testing myself in a new environment and bringing what I learn home with me. I’m doubly excited about my flow class in the morning because I feel even more accomplished after my little jaunt across town. The experience of a new place and new people and even of myself in different poses and of how I handle that change gives me a new confidence in the things I do everyday. A mini road trip to shift my perspective and remind me to always keep reaching, stretching to see how far I can go.

“You have always to do a little bit more than you think you can, in quality and in quantity. This is what leads ultimately to beauty and greatness. – B.K.S. Iyengar

Onward!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 12/30/2009 by in yogalove.

more downward dog, less downward spiral

Smile, be happy!

"Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it." — Elizabeth Gilbert

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

twittah

