the yoga love

on the mat is a state of mind

Day 36: So It Goes

“I want to stay as close to the edge as I can without going over. Out on the edge you see all kinds of things you can’t see from the center. … Big, undreamed-of things — the people on the edge see them first.” ~Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

As of today, I am 36 days in, and I have 23 classes in the bag (on the mat?). I have some time to make up, for sure.

While I set out with a simple goal – to do yoga everyday for 108 days – the experience has turned into something quite unexpected. I am reminded that while the concept provided structure, the real objective was obviously something deeper. I’ve seen how much yoga has changed me since I started back seriously in October, and I wanted to see how far I could take it, not just prove that I could work out everyday for four months. Making this commitment to myself has reminded me of a few things.

Routine is just a framework for our lives – not life in and of itself. I forget this sometimes. I get so caught up in the to-do, accomplish, complete, repeat cycle that I forget to actually live my life. The last few weeks have been full of work and travel and moving and not much yoga, but I catch a class here and there to bring me back into the awareness of what it is I’m trying to do – just as I reconnect to my intention for my practice every time i bring my hands to my heart. Routine gives us a place to work from, a place to come back to after we’ve returned from the edge. So these weeks of upheaval have forced me out of my routine and reminded me to live the life I love, not the life that fits my schedule. I’ve missed class because I felt like eating doughnuts, because I drank too much champagne, because I slept in, because I had to work, because I wanted to travel, because I went to see a band. I miss class sometimes because I have a life.

While yoga continues to be a huge part of my life – I have realized that it can’t be my life.  It gives me the strength and confidence to fling myself out to the edge, where I like to spend most of my time these days, and provides a balance between ‘reach’ and ‘restore’ that I desperately need.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 02/16/2010 by in Mala.

more downward dog, less downward spiral

Smile, be happy!

"Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it." — Elizabeth Gilbert

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

twittah

