the yoga love

on the mat is a state of mind

Off the Mat…

…is where most of my yoga is taking place these days.

As I ponder a career change, another move and reentry into the single life, I am forced to test my true flexibility – the kind that doesn’t so much get me into full lotus as gets me through the twists and turns of the everyday.

I’ve written before about the parallels between my on + off mat experiences, and though I am currently spending more time ‘off,’ those lessons are carrying me through. I begin each day with a quick search of yoga classes, set my sights on one that might be doable, dress for a phone booth-quick wardrobe change and pack my mat. Some days I make it, some days I don’t, but either way I look back to see where the day got me. One step closer? One step back? I write each morning + evening to keep track of where I’m going and what my stumbling blocks might be in this time of massive transition.

While the themes are heavy, I do my best to keep it fun and I must say that my part time gig at lululemon is helping. I get to be creative on a daily basis, I get credit when I do something well and I’m held accountable for my mistakes. This isn’t your average retail job and I greatly appreciate the wide variety of experience that it entails. Needless to say, I’ve gotten pretty creative with how I wear my yoga clothes and I’ve come to value versatility in all things – not just stretch pants.

So, that being said, I’ve decided to add a style component to my blog. In the spirit of versatility, this will serve two purposes: 1. I will get to creatively document fashion v. function and take greater pride in my personal presentation knowing that other(s) will (might) see it and 2. I will always be dressed both for yoga and real life to keep me from copping out at the end of the day with the lame-o excuse of “but I don’t have time to run home and change.”

This morning I am doing my fave Shiva Rea dvd in my living room before heading in to work, so I get to take a few liberties with my wardrobe, but I will leave you with one of my favorite ‘transition’ pieces and a rather inspired wearing of my Groove pants last week that I will no doubt be rocking again.

Onward!

Peglegs: for when all your real leggings are in the wash! + My fave new addition for jeans or luon: My frye over the knee boots. Perfection.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 01/13/2011 by in fashion + function, life, yogalove.

more downward dog, less downward spiral

Smile, be happy!

"Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it." — Elizabeth Gilbert

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

twittah

