the yoga love

on the mat is a state of mind

So it goes…

I don’t believe in ‘circumstance’ – I am absolutely convinced that everything happens for a reason.

This winter, I was in the Denver airport, 2 years to. the. day. since i had last been there. It gave me goosebumps.

Tomorrow, I leave Baltimore one year to the day since I first came here. Again, creepy, but also awesome. I like clean beginnings and endings.

Stranger still, my subscription to Yoga Journal went missing when I left Raleigh in August. I have not received one single issue since I’ve lived in Maryland. Until today. One shows up in my mailbox the day before I head to Colorado to start teacher training. Are you freaked out yet?

Despite the weirdness, I jam on this type of thing. It gives me a sense of closure, of completion. The feeling I got in DIA said, ‘ you don’t know it yet, but you’ll be back, sister.’ And I am. The idea that I’m leaving Baltimore after exactly one year makes me think I’ve accomplished whatever it was I was meant to come here and do. Something learned, something gained, no matter how it played out. My copy of Yoga Journal showing up in my mailbox today says, ‘I’ve got an eye on you and you’re on the right track.’

As I curl up on my mattress in the middle of my empty apartment, coffee mug of champagne in hand, I have to say I’ve got a lot of love for the Mid-Atlantic after the last 6 months. I met some of amazing people, explored a new relationship, ate my fill of crab cakes and perfected my bloody mary recipe. Baltimore, you’ll always hold a special place in my heart.

 

Onward!

One comment on “So it goes…

  1. Saunders
    02/21/2011

    Coffee mugs of bubbles? Sounds profound and vaguely familiar.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 02/20/2011 by in life.

more downward dog, less downward spiral

Smile, be happy!

"Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it." — Elizabeth Gilbert

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

twittah

