the yoga love

on the mat is a state of mind

Nevermind the Grass.

“Wanting to be someone else is a waste of the person you are.”                                                                                                           -Kurt Cobain

In keeping with my earlier post about naming what we are not in order to get down to who we are, I inadvertently conducted a little experiment. Dissatisfied with my mat, I purchased a new one. Convinced that it would solve all the world’s problems, I took it with me to class last night. After slipping all over the place, covering myself in a rubbery smelling funk, and reawakening the excitement that is a latex allergy, I had only solved one problem: my dissatisfaction with my (read: super sticky, super cushy, totally latex-free) mat (of amazement).

Two big lessons here. The first, sometimes you don’t know how good you have it. That old adage, the grass is always greener? Well, as per yoga and as per my class last night, the mat is not always stickier. A stickier mat isn’t the solution to my asana issues anyway, a stronger set of arms is, and that’s on me, not Manduka. Second lesson, you may look across the room and see someone else’s mat / practice / etc. and think ‘I want that.’ But the part you don’t see, is what got them there – the history behind their behind, if that’s what you’re coveting. I’ve seen plenty of people with the ‘new mat’ that was to be my savior, but it wasn’t really the mat that I wanted, it was the perfect ardha chandrasana. How could I know that the reason they could stand facing their future and supported by their past, in perfect alignment with the present of the pose had nothing to do with the thin layer of rubber beneath their feet? (I’m exaggerating, but you get my point). We all come to our mats from a unique set of experiences that no one else has. What I learned last night was that no matter how much I’d like to do a handstand right now, that’s just not where I am and wishing that I could trade places with someone who is there, who can kick right up into some crazy pose, well, a lifetime of work for five breaths upside down? that doesn’t exactly seem like a fair trade.

So today, I return the mat-that-would-solve-all-my-problems, and go back to working on my down dog, and myself, one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 03/04/2011 by in life, win, yogalove, YTT.

more downward dog, less downward spiral

Smile, be happy!

"Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it." — Elizabeth Gilbert

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

twittah

