the yoga love

on the mat is a state of mind

Gee, Thanks!

It has been a tough twelve months, with numerous transitions, and there is so much for me to be thankful for this year. My family has been so incredibly supportive; I have no idea where I’d be right now without them.

I think that the think I am most thankful for this year is that I learned to take care of myself. I learned self-discipline and self-restraint, I learned flexibility and softness. I’ve learned to be who I am, wherever I happen to be. Yoga has taught me so much in these last 6 weeks, and since I’ve been home, I made up a yoga class all for myself (I knew I wouldn’t make it through thanksgiving without and I couldn’t get out of bed at 7am for the one class of the day), and I went to a class outside of blue lotus and I felt perfectly comfortable. I didn’t feel intimidated by a new studio or teacher, and I knew that I know enough to take a class anywhere. It was a good feeling, that I can take my yoga with me, that I carry it with me as a part of my being. Yoga has officially become a part of who I am.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on 11/27/2009 by in yogalove.

more downward dog, less downward spiral

Smile, be happy!

"Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it." — Elizabeth Gilbert

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other subscribers